I love writing and I love technology, so one would think my best writing would happen when using the latest or greatest software and maybe even switching to a Dvorak keyboard layout (maybe not) to increase WPM. Yet from necesity I recently rediscovered how much a pen and blank sheet of paper can push my creative flow.

I have read about a few people saying they can write faster in longhand because there are fewer typos and less going back over to tweak a phrase. Some say it is because they may write fewer WPM but the words are better and so they actually produce more. And that is what we want, quality product at the end of a session.

This all may be true, and probabaly does contribute to my enjoyment of the process and better work. There is more to it though. It brings back the memory of writing stories in pencil before my age reached double digits. And don’t get me wrong, I had access to a typewriter from the same age and would hunt and peck my way to a typed manuscript but that always came after the scrawl of words on wide-ruled notebook pages.

So I have tapped into that enthusiasm from when I first set words on paper. I believe this is what makes my writing better. There is this concept of “flow” or being in the “zone” and it in some ways is meditative. The pre-frontal cortex (the internal editor) actually disengages from the process and so we stop judging what we’re doing.

I have found my fountain of creativity in a simple and glorious pen and composition notebook.


Here’s to you and your creative endeavors. I would love to hear your opinions on this question of old and new technology and the art of writing. Maybe one works better for certain work but not others, such as poetry versus novels.

via PressSync

